Fencing Bear

My blogs

Blogs I follow

About me

Gender Female
Industry Education
Occupation Professor of Medieval History
Location Chicago, IL, United States
Introduction Hair: white; Eyes: green; Handedness: right; Sex: female; Age (in fencing years): 17; Age (in fiddle years) 8; Diet: Low-carb; Perfume: White Linen; Piercings: nose, ears (x2 each side, plus 1), navel; Husband: Lego genius; Dog: Cardigan Welsh Corgi, Joy a.k.a. "Dragon Baby" (RIP 2009-2020); Weapon: foil; USFA rating: B18; Heart strings: fiddle; Faith: Christian (cradle Presbyterian, Catholic convert); Patrons: the Virgin Mary, J.R.R. Tolkien; Occupation: professor of medieval European history; Myers-Briggs type: INTJ; Temperament: Melancholic; Political philosophy: Entish, Christian, Scots-Irish American, "Medieval or GTFO" (it's complicated); Addiction: "how to" books; Mantra: Fides quaerens intellectum; Motto: "He knows what he is doing with me, and when he has tested me, I will come forth as pure gold" (Job 23:10).
Interests fencing, fiddle, prayer, medieval European history, Christianity
Favorite Movies The Princess Bride, A Knight's Tale, Mulan, Jesus of Montreal, Chocolate, Pirates of the Caribbean, Earth Girls Are Easy, Shakespeare in Love, Proof
Favorite Music Taize chant, Mozart, Dead Can Dance, Krishna Das, C.W. McCall, Johnny Cash, John Michael Talbot, Rachmaninoff, The Irish Rovers, Silly Wizard
Favorite Books Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings, Proust's Remembrance of Things Past, Terry Pratchett's Discworld series, A S Byatt's Possession, Elaine Scarry's The Body in Pain, Musashi's Book of the Five Rings, Julia Cameron's Artist Way, Scott McCloud's Understanding Comics, Dorothy Sayers's The Mind of the Maker, G.K. Chesterton's Orthodoxy, Dante Alighieri's Divine Comedy, Andrew Greeley's Myths of Religion

If you were a cannibal, what would you wear to dinner?

My best clothes, to honor the food.