Monte

My blogs

About me

Gender MALE
Industry Engineering
Occupation Engineer - Farmer - Graphics
Location Andalusia, Illinois, United States
Introduction I was raised on a small farm in Illinois. My wife, Eileen and I and family have worked together hand and hand on this farm (and adjoining land we bought) since 1966. I attended and graduated University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana, IL. I received a Bachelor of Science Degree (Cum Laude)in Agricultural Engineering in 1970. I worked as a registered Professional Engineer for the Rock Island District, US Army Corps of Engineers for 33 years, before retiring. I held several supervisory positions while at Corps: Chief, Regulatory Branch, Assistant Chief of Operations Division, Chief of the Lock and Dam Branch, and Mississippi River Project Manager. One highlight of my career was developing NIC (Google "NIC - Navigation Information Connection") during the early 90's, in a joint effort, with the District's Information Management personnel and Navigation Industry Representatives. My wife and I have 2 grown children and 4 grandchildren. We have businesses associated with farming, "live edge" furniture making, vegetable produce, and graphics. We enjoy pursuing our hobby interests.
Interests Farming, Sustainability, Permaculture, Organic Gardening, BioChar, Wood Pyrolysis, Gasification, High Tunnels, Alternative Power, Inland River Navigation, Photography, Hunting, Fighting Illini, Dirt Late Model Racing, Live Edge Furniture, Vegetable Produce, Graphics, Graphic Design, Hoop Houses, Cellulose Conversion to Fuel
Favorite Movies Grand Torino
Favorite Music Bruce Springstein, Pink
Favorite Books Mark Twain

You've been invited to a fancy ball but the only thing you have to wear is an orange wooly jumper. What shoes do you wear?

"Brown Ecco" The only kind I wear!