My blogs

About me

Industry Arts
Occupation Classical Music
Location San Francisco, CA, United States
Introduction The Cypress and the U.S. Library of Congress co-commissioned New York based composer Kevin Puts to write a piece in honor of Felix Mendelssohn’s 200th Birthday, using inspiration from Mendelssohn’s Quartet Opus 13 and Beethoven’s Quartet Opus 135. The Cypress will perform the piece’s premiere at the Library of Congress in conjunction with the February 2009 Mendelssohn on the Mall birthday celebration. The 2009 Call & Response program brings the Mendelssohn Celebration to the San Francisco Bay Area community in a performance April 3, 2009. The commissioned piece will be performed by the Cypress String Quartet, paired with the two pieces that inspired it. Kevin Puts will be speaking before the concert.