My blogs

About me

Gender Male
Industry Manufacturing
Occupation Project Manager
Location Caldicot, Monmouthshire, United Kingdom
Introduction Our family lives in South Wales, & much of my time is spent with young Tomas - Chhi'med Chatral Dorje - my little boy - born in the summer of 2007. I'm a steelworker & there's been family in steel since 1962. My father is now heavily involved in local history & research in South London, & my Mum is a writer and retired teacher. My wonderful wife ran her own gardening business until Tom's arrival, & has been a full time mum ever since. She has green fingers though & I suspect she'll return to gardening in the not too distant future. We have lived in South Wales since completing a religious studies degree in the early 90s at UWCC, specialising in Eastern Religions. We're Buddhists & took ordination in 2000, having 'taken refuge' in 1993. Our Tsa wa'i Lamas (root teachers) are Ngak'chang Rinpoche & Khandro Déchen. The Aro Tradition - a small Nyingma lineage - has always been my home but we've been fortune enough to receive teachings from Tharchin Rinpoche, Chhi'med Rig'dzin Rinpoche, Tanzin Rinpoche & Kunzang Dorje Rinpoche & Jomo Samphel, amongst other Lamas. Family & workmates call us Cris & Jo, & friends; fellow Buddhists Namgyal & Shé-zér.
Interests Vajrayana Buddhism, Dzogchen, organic gardening, home brewing, Aro Tradition
Favorite Movies Serenity, Lord of the Rings Trilogy, the Tall Guy, Sideways, French Kiss, Tombstone, Gettysburg, Waterloo
Favorite Music Hayseed Dixie, Ralph Vaughan Williams, Dream Theatre, Extreme, Giuseppe Verdi
Favorite Books Dune, Lord of the Rings, the Complete Book of Self Sufficiency by John Seymour, the Cadfael Mysteries, Lean Thinking, the Screwtape Letters