My blogs

Blogs I follow

About me

Gender MALE
Occupation Itinerant Worker
Location Luanda, Angola
Introduction I first came to Africa in the early 90's, supposedly for one year. Six months in Mozambique followed by six months in Angola and then home again. Over 20 years later, I am still here. I have gone where the jobs were, in mine clearance, security, the oil industry, anything that would put bread on the table. I have a farm in southern Angola and am building a lovely restaurant and hotel on the banks of the Rio Kwanza where the river spills into the Atlantic ocean. I am 55 years old, have two sons aged 16 and 6, a longtime girlfriend 21 years my junior, three dogs and a fine goose which we keep meaning to eat at Christmas but somehow never do.
Interests Fishing, Shooting, Motorcycles, Equestrian, Water Skiing, Farming, Cooking, Photography, classic cars, motorsport, Triumph Stag
Favorite Movies The Constant Gardener, The year of Living Dangerously, Guns at Batasi, A Bridge too Far, Get Carter, Ring of Bright Water, The Quiet American, The English Patient, National Lampoon's Christmas vacation, The Great Escape, Behind the Sun, Le Mans, Robin and the Seven Hoods, A Christmas Carol, The Odd Angry Shot, Gorky Park, Long Good Friday, Battle of Britain
Favorite Music Santana, Simply Red, The Clash, Genesis, ELO, Kate Bush, Wagner, Bach, Puccini, Rolling Stones, Pink Floyd, The Cars
Favorite Books Ernest Hemingway, anything by Len Deighton, Le Carre, Pakenham, Waugh, Fishing in Africa, The Zanzibar Chest, Riotous Assembly, Africa House, Ryszard Kapuscinski, The Shackled Continent, The State of Africa, Michela Wrong