Merle Widmer

My blogs

Blogs I follow

About me

Gender MALE
Occupation Retired
Location Peoria, Il, Strongly believe in the freedom of religion
Introduction Born on a farm between Congerville and Carlock, Il., graduated from Normal Commnity High School, served in Armed Services, graduated from Western Illinois University, Macomb, Il., Taught and was head Basketball Coach in High Schools for 5 years. Worked for a Fortune 500 Campany 8 years, 5 in management. Opened my own business in 1964 with 2 employees in Peoria, opened multiple stores and offices in Central Illinois and sold out in 1992. My name still uses my name, Widmer Interiors, which was a division of my company which started selling filing systems and grew to $11 million in sales as a company similar to Staples. At the age of 75, I was elected to the Peoria County board and served 3 complete terms,4 years as Board Vice-Chairman.. Tennis is my recreation and I have over 200 trophies all won between tne ages of 55-85.. I am married to Claire and have 2 lovely daughters from a previous marriage. My only son is deceased. I have 3 grandsons, one lovely daughter-in-law, one son-in-law and numours grandchildren and great-grand-children. I have posted over 2500 blogs since 2004. Read, enjoy, or dis-agree but I stick to the facts to the best of my knowledge.
Interests Listed at the top of each blog I've posted.
Favorite Movies Seldom attend
Favorite Music Most any kind
Favorite Books Political and fiction

The direction this country is heading.