Stefan

My blogs

About me

Gender MALE
Occupation Digger of Dirt
Location Rougemont, NC
Introduction I'm a bit of a hybrid as far as my professional background goes. I have a bachelors in English Language and Literature, and I attended graduate school to study Forestry. I lived in Ecuador and Tanzania to study tropical ecology and wildlife management. I started my own landscape contracting business in 1995 (see my web page) to help pay for graduate school, and I still operate it on a part-time basis for special projects involving native plant habitats and water features. I came to the gardens in 2002 to take over in the Blomquist Garden, and have enjoyed my seven years here immensely. I am married with two children, and my wife, Erika, and I own a home in Northern Durham county. My hobbies include playing guitar, reading fantasy literature, writing, and playing, watching or reading about any sport you can name. I recently began work on my first fantasy novel just for fun.
Interests writing, reading, digging, enjoying the company of family and friends
Favorite Movies Shawshank Redemption, Lord of the Rings trilogy, The Bourne series, The Princess Bride, Labyrinth (gotta love David Bowie with muppets)And I'd be remiss if I did not add AVATAR as one of my new favorites. (Whats not to like about Mother Nature beating up bulldozers?)
Favorite Music Chris Whitley (the greatest musician nobody knows about), Led Zeppelin, Classic 70s rock that rocks
Favorite Books Any of a dozen fantasy series I read over and over (Especially George Martin, Robert Jordan, Tad Williams and Robin Hobb)

Favorite Nurseries? Niche Gardens, Cure Nursery, Rarebird Nursery... Go Natives!!! What bugs me? Whining.