Daniel the Potter

My blogs

About me

Gender MALE
Industry Arts
Occupation potter
Location Safed, Galillee, Israel
Introduction Born in St.Alban's,Hertfordshire,U.K. Grew up in Welwyn Gdn. City,B.A.[Psychology] & P.G.C.E. Sussex University 1972. Worked for 2 years as class teacher in Fakenham,deepest East Anglia,where the kids called bees 'hodmedods'. Apprenticed to Robin Welch,potter of renown,learned jigger-and-jolley production pottery for a couple of years [my formal training],arrived in Israel 1977 on my way to Japan ,decided to stay,learned in yeshiva/worked with Jerusalem potters/met and married Helen/moved to Safed 1980 in search of cheap house/studio.Moved from electric kiln/rented studio to current studio [upper floor of house]and gas kiln 1984.I work alone [with occasional apprentices] making functional table- and kitchen-ware and Jewish functional ware in stoneware and porcelain,fire around 25 kilns a year,sell to a mixture of locals and tourists,teach at Tel Hai Pottery School,make wine and listen to music.
Interests Pottery, Badminton, -tho' haven't played in years, Table tennis, Archery, Obviously anything with silica in it, Electronic things, Forlornly-motorbikes-in this country-too dangerous, Housebuilding and woodwork, Cooking, Origami, Meditation, Dictionaries and words, Reading-but not necessarily remembering too much of what I read, Is that too many?Soon-astronomy.
Favorite Movies Don't seem to be seeing many movies these days...
Favorite Music everything except Country [sorry Hank Wangford], Also not Ray Charles.
Favorite Books Proust's Big Book-I'm up to vol.4 [which I don't have], Moomintroll books [as a child], Raymond Chandler, Great Expectations, Tolkien [a love passed on to my sons], O.Henry, Graham Greene, The list is really too long...