David White

My blogs

About me

Gender MALE
Industry Advertising
Occupation Graphic Artist
Location London, United Kingdom
Introduction My background is fine art & design: scholarship to experimental art school, graphic design college then various studios/freelance/advertising agencies both in Australia and the UK (KPHS, RSJ, IMP, DM&M - from Graphic Artist to Sen. Art Director level and Creative Director of Omni Art & Design Ltd) though while at college and travelling Oz on a 2 yr round trip I've had jobs ranging from creating art on leather for a boutique in Darwin to poling for tuna off Albany (Great Australian Bight) & crayfishing (Geraldton WA) to relief lighthouse keeping (Cape Levique far NW WA) + from electrician's mate to lab assistant at the Wool Board. I've also taught painting & drawing Adult Ed classes in Adelaide and set up a Student Art Gallery in Perth. Travelled SE Asia & Europe. Took a BSc.(Hons) Physical Sci (Dept. Physics & Astronomy) UCL as an adult some 15yrs ago to balance my otherwise rather bohemian past. I'm secretary of the Hackney Homes Clapton Residents Panel for my sins: http://claptonpanel.wordpress.com ...and secretary of the Clapton Arts Trust. http://claptonartstrust.org ...as well as the Beecholme & Casimir TRA
Interests Volunteering, to improve our environs - including visual environs and street architecture - and raise awareness of the impact our visual surroundings have (from self-worth to ASB and crime) and the role of design, Graphic design, typography, colour management, photoshop, illustration, illustrator, drawing, photography, canon EOS 10D, sci-fi, star trek, 50's films, animation, Fine art and graphic design, Quantum physics & cosmology, (I took a physics degree at UCL as an adult)
Favorite Movies Forbidden Planet
Favorite Music Jimi Hendrix, Jeff Beck, It's a Beautiful Day, Led Zeppelin.
Favorite Books "About Time" by Paul Davies - non fiction - because I've been reading it for weeks and it still has me scratching my head