Susannah

My blogs

About me

Gender FEMALE
Occupation Carer
Location Southampton, Hampshire, United Kingdom
Introduction In 2006 I found myself redundant so I decided to fulfil a childhood dream and volunteer in Kenya, Africa, my 3 month placement with a project for street children grew into a 6 year stay with periodic trips back to the UK. I was divorced many years before and have a son and daughter (my masterpieces) and a two grand-daughters. I am now back in the UK as full time live-in carer for my parents. My mother has Dementia and my father Parkinsons. I do miss my life in Kenya desperately but the memories and friends I made are helping me through this difficult time. I am struggling to be me.
Interests I used to salsa dance two or three times a week, cinema, socialising but now I struggle with going out in my old social groups. Currently I have little time for the things I am able to manage such as reading, movie watching and crafts but I do enjoy myself restoring my parents garden from the overgrown mess it had been allowed to become.
Favorite Movies Salmon Fishing in the Yemen, Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, Water for Elephants, Pretty Woman, Green Mile, Body Guard, Thelma and Louise, Bucket List, Shall we dance, Coyote Ugly, Fern Gully
Favorite Music Salsa, tango, Bongo, Soul, Reggae.
Favorite Books Any Kathy Reichs and Patricia Cornwell. Kuki Gulman - I dreamed of Africa. Cloth Girl by Marilyn Heward Mills.

Why does the taste of pennies remind you of losing a tooth?

It has similar taste to blood in the mouth.