Frugal Canadian Hermit

My blogs

Blogs I follow

About me

Gender MALE
Industry Transportation
Occupation Driver
Location Alberta, Canada
Introduction I am a 50 year old guy. I have been living off grid in an 8x24 foot shack since Oct 25 2009. (Finally moved into the house in the fall of 2012). So far I am loving every minute of it. My solar power system is working better than I have expected from it. Shortly after moving out here, it turned real cold for about a week. Pretty close to minus 40 C/F. I thought I was in for a deadly cold winter, but it actually turned out to be pretty mild from what I am used to. I am in the process of building my dream cabin(home), but things have been moving along rather slowly, mostly because of lack of knowledge, and alot of the time I get busy on my pay job. It would really be kinda neat to be in the new house by this winter, but I will make no promises. I am going to remain off grid, because I like it. I used to worry about what everyone thought of me for wanting to live like this, but now that I have been doing it, and know that it totally works for me, I don't really care what anyone thinks anymore. The more I live like this, the more I feel that I am actually the smarter one. lol. If anyone has any questions or comments, please feel free, I would love to hear from you.
Interests Simple living, Solar Energy, self sufficient living, rv, full time rv, van dwelling, camping, canoe, kayaking, paddling, hiking, biking, atv's, cabins, frugal living, investing, stock trading, computers, gps, auctions, alternative energy, off grid living, traveling, meeting people, reading.
Favorite Movies lots.
Favorite Music Country, Rock, what ever, Chantel Kreviazik, Chan Marshall, Amanda Marshall, Feist. AC-DC, and many more.
Favorite Books Educational, Magazines.

You've successfully slain the dragon! How will you toast your marshmallows?

Over the fire.